Bamberger Kunst und Antiquitäten GbR

The 25th Bamberg Art and Antiques Fair takes place from 24 July to 24 August 2020 in the World Cultural Heritage of Bamberg.

learn more

Works of Art

Our objects

New objects via E-Mail

We would be pleased to inform you about our new antiques.

 Sign up now 

Handicraft

Handicrafts

Sculptures

Sculptures

Paintings

A pair of high-quality baroque paintings - Signed Franz Christoph Janneck (Graz 1703-1761 Vienna)

Oil on copper.

In a festive atmosphere, a gallant, courtly company amuses herself on the terrace of a magnificent palace to music, dance and conversation over a lavish feast. On large-format murals in the background of the colorful scenery, mythological depictions of the hunting goddess Diana and the sun god Apollo reflect the demanding lifestyle of the characters and tell as allegories the dream of eternal beauty and youth, of seduction and love, but also of the burden of social expectations and moral demands.

In their brilliant colors and the excellent quality of the painting, these two counterparts are typical examples of baroque art in Austria. Alongside Johann Georg Platzer (1704-1761), Janneck is rightly considered the most important artist at the Vienna Academy. In his characteristic combination of Dutch and French ideals, he succeeded in excellent implementation of the unique, baroque attitude towards life of the noble society in the 18th century. The pair of paintings was exhibited in the Residenzgalerie Salzburg in 1996 and published in the exhibition catalog (cat. no. 4 and 5).

Height 40 cm, width 52 cm.

Juffinger, “Reich mir die Hand, mein Leben. Einladung zu einem barocken Fest“ with pictures by Johann Georg Platzer and Franz Christoph Janneck, Salzburg 1996, p. 100-104.

Pucher, Franz Christoph Janneck 1703-1761, dissertation, Graz 1996, p. 196-197, cat. no. 109 and 110.

Paintings

Furniture

Classicist pair of chests of drawers - Leipzig - Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmann - around 1780

Mahogany, bog oak, maple veneer, key plates in bone and original, gold-plated fittings with elaborately enamelled badges.

That the Leipzig workshop of Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmann was rightly regarded as an important center of furniture production in his time is shown by this pair of chests of drawers, which is simple only at first glance. Elaborate and unusual details complete the selected veneer pattern of the three-drawer chests of drawers: the corner legs that merge into pilaster strips with veneered fluting, the finely inlaid bands on the edges of the furniture and the elegant fittings corresponded to the exquisite taste of court clients towards the end of the 18th century. Century.

Hoffmann (1741-1806) was the first cabinet maker to have an illustrated directory of the pieces of furniture that could be ordered at his workshop printed and distributed at the Leipzig trade fair in 1789. Depending on the client’s taste, the designs could be varied in terms of veneer and finish, and despite ordering from the catalog, representative individual pieces were created for the nobility and the wealthy middle class. Wonderful furniture by Hoffmann has been preserved in the castles in Wörtlitz and Weimar, among other places.

Height 77 cm, width 68 cm, depth 45 cm.

M. Sulzbacher et al., Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmann (on the occasion of the exhibition “Most Noble Carpentry Work from Leipzig. FG Hoffmann - Court Carpenters and Entrepreneurs”), Dresden 2014, pp. 281 and 282.

Museum Spindler chest of drawers - Johann Friedrich and Heinrich Wilhelm Spindler - Berlin around 1765

Walnut, king wood and maple as well as other colored, partly engraved and black contoured woods.

The top and front of the high-quality, two-drawer chest of drawers show the division into each three cartouches framed by rocailles, which is so characteristic of the Spindler workshop. The precisely crafted cube parquet is complemented by large bouquets of flowers tied with bows, on the front by a lush bouquet in a wicker basket and on the middle cartridge of the plate by a fountain with nereid and putto in front of a burl wood background. Original, fire-gilded and silver-plated bronze fittings with the coat of arms of the Barons of Plotho complement the masterful veneer.

Erich Christoph Edler Lord and Baron of Plotho (1707-1788) was appointed Prussian Minister of State by Frederick the Great in 1754 and was seconded to Regensburg as the Brandenburg envoy during the Seven Years War. From there he made numerous diplomatic trips to southern German and Austrian royal courts. These contacts not only influenced his political career but also led to a cultivated taste for luxurious furnishings and art objects, as this representative chest of drawers attests to. His wife Charlotte Wilhelmine Eleonore Baroness of Bodenhausen brought several properties located in the Margraviate of Ansbach and Bayreuth into their marriage in 1743, to which he withdrew from the service of the king after he left.

The chest of drawers is published and illustrated by Kreisel / Himmelheber.

Height 80.5 cm, width 140 cm, depth 64 cm.

Pictured at Kreisel, “Die Kunst des Deutschen Möbels”, Munich 1973, vol. 2, fig. 790.

Sangl, “Spindler?”, in: “Journal of the Furniture History Society”, Leeds 1992, vol. XXVII, p. 22-66.

Artfully inlaid Rococo chest of drawers from the workshop of David Roentgen - Neuwied - around 1775

Veneered in walnut, rosewood, cherry, plum and maple, Rouge Royal marble top. Adhesive label signed on the back.

The two-drawer body “sans traverse” with lambrequin-like hanging frame on elegantly curved legs, the front and sides are lavishly cambered and inlaid with extremely fine and high-quality flower arrangements tied with bows. The original handle with a wreath of flowers shows a female portrait bust in the medallion.

The fine, light flower inlays, which were developed in the Neuwied workshop under the direction of David Roentgen, corresponded more to the taste of luxury-spoiled buyers in the last third of the 18th century than the splendid decors of the Baroque and Rococo, for which his father Abraham was appreciated by courtly clients. The mostly floral motifs are based on models by Jean Bérains the Elder. (1640-1711), Jean Baptiste Oudry (1686-1755) or Jean Pillement (1728-1808).

The impressive effects of color, three-dimensionality as well as bright and dark contrasts are only created through the use of differently colored woods and only the carpenters of the Roentgen Manufactory have mastered these elaborate veneering techniques to such perfection. A very similar but slightly larger chest of drawers from an order by Landgrave Frederick II of Hesse-Kassel is kept in the Kassel State Museum.

Height 80 cm, width 78 cm, depth 41 cm.

See Huth, “Abraham und David Roentgen und ihre Neuwieder Möbelwerkstatt”, Munich 1974, fig. 238.

Furniture

Bamberger Kunst und Antiquitäten GbR

 

zur Veranstaltung

Neu eingestellt

Unser Angebot

Neue Schätze direkt per E-Mail

Gerne informieren wir Sie über unsere neuen Objekte

 Jetzt anmelden 

Kunsthandwerk

Kunsthandwerk

Skulpturen

Skulpturen

Gemälde

Ein Paar qualitätvoller Barockbilder - Signiert Franz Christoph Janneck (Graz 1703-1761 Wien)

Öl auf Kupfer.

In festlichem Ambiente vergnügt sich eine galante, höfische Gesellschaft auf der Terrasse eines prunkvollen Palastes zu Musik, Tanz und Konversation bei einem üppigen Festmahl. Auf großformatigen Wandbildern im Hintergrund der farbenprächtigen Szenerie spiegeln mythologische Darstellungen der Jagdgöttin Diana sowie des Sonnengottes Apoll den anspruchsvollen Lebensstil der Figuren und erzählen als Allegorien den Traum von ewiger Schönheit und Jugend, von Verführung und Liebe, aber auch von der Last gesellschaftlicher Erwartungen und moralischer Ansprüche.

In ihrer brillanten Farbigkeit und der hervorragenden Qualität der Malerei sind diese beiden Pendants ein typisches Beispiel für die Kunst des Barock in Österreich. Janneck gilt neben Johann Georg Platzer (1704-1761) zurecht als bedeutendster Künstler der Wiener Akademie. In der für ihn charakteristischen Verbindung von niederländischen mit französischen Vorbildern gelang ihm die exzellente Umsetzung des einzigartigen, barocken Lebensgefühls der vornehmen Gesellschaft im 18. Jahrhundert. Das Gemäldepaar wurde 1996 in der Residenzgalerie Salzburg ausgestellt und im Ausstellungskatalog publiziert (Kat.-Nr. 4 und 5).

Höhe 40 cm, Breite 52 cm.

Juffinger, Reich mir die Hand, mein Leben. Einladung zu einem barocken Fest mit Bildern von Johann Georg Platzer und Franz Christoph Janneck, Salzburg 1996, S. 100-104.

Pucher, Franz Christoph Janneck 1703-1761, Dissertation, Graz 1996, S. 196-197, Kat.-Nr. 109 u. 110.

Gemälde

Möbel

Kommodenpaar klassizistisch - Leipzig - Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmann - um 1780

Mahagoni, Mooreiche, Ahorn furniert, Schlüsselschilder in Bein sowie originale, vergoldete Beschläge mit aufwändig emaillierten Plaketten.

Dass die Leipziger Werkstatt Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmanns seiner Zeit zurecht als bedeutendes Zentrum der Möbelherstellung galt, bezeugt dieses nur auf den ersten Blick schlichte Paar Kommoden. Aufwändige und ungewöhnliche Details ergänzen das ausgesuchte Furnierbild der dreischübigen Kommoden: die über Eck stehenden Beine, die in Lisenen mit furnierten Kanneluren übergehen, die fein intarsierten Bänder an den Kanten des Möbels und die eleganten Beschläge entsprachen dem erlesenen Geschmack höfischer Auftraggeber gegen Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts.

Hoffmann (1741-1806) ließ als erster Kunstschreiner 1789 ein illustriertes Verzeichnis der bei ihm bestellbaren Möbelstücke drucken und auf der Leipziger Messe verteilen. Je nach Geschmack des Auftraggebers konnten die Entwürfe in Furnier und Ausführung variiert werden, und es entstanden trotz der Bestellung nach dem Katalog repräsentative Einzelstücke für den Adel und das vermögende Bürgertum. Wunderbare Möbel Hoffmanns haben sich unter anderem in den Schlössern in Wörtlitz und Weimar erhalten.

Höhe 77 cm, Breite 68 cm, Tiefe 45 cm.

M. Sulzbacher u.a., Friedrich Gottlob Hoffmann (anlässlich der Ausstellung „Vornehmste Tischlerarbeiten aus Leipzig. F.G. Hoffmann – Hoftischler und Unternehmer“), Dresden 2014, S. 281 und 282.

Museale Spindler-Kommode - Johann Friedrich und Heinrich Wilhelm Spindler - Berlin um 1765

Nuss, Königsholz und Ahorn sowie weitere gefärbte, teils gravierte und schwarz konturierte Hölzer.

Platte und Front der qualitätvollen, zweischübigen Kommode zeigen die für die Spindler-Werkstatt so charakteristische Gliederung in je drei von Rocaillen gerahmte Kartuschen. Das präzise gearbeitete Würfelparkett wird ergänzt von großen, mit Schleifen gebundenen Blumensträußen, auf der Front von einem üppigen Bouquet im Flechtkorb und auf der Mittelkartusche der Platte von einem Brunnen mit Nereide und Putto vor Maserholzfond. Originale, feuervergoldete und versilberte Bronzebeschläge mit dem Wappen der Freiherren von Plotho ergänzen das meisterliche Furnier.

Erich Christoph Edler Herr und Freiherr von Plotho (1707-1788) wurde 1754 von Friedrich dem Großen zum preußischen Staatsminister ernannt und als brandenburgischer Gesandter während des Siebenjährigen Krieges nach Regensburg abgeordnet. Von dort aus unternahm er zahlreiche diplomatische Reisen an süddeutsche und österreichische Fürstenhöfe. Diese Kontakte hatten nicht nur Einfluss auf seine politische Karriere sondern führten ihn zu einem kultivierten Geschmack für luxuriöse Einrichtungsobjekte und Kunstgegenstände, wie diese repräsentative Kommode bezeugt. Seine Frau Charlotte Wilhelmine Eleonore Freiin von Bodenhausen brachte mehrere, in den Markgrafschaften Ansbach und Bayreuth gelegene Güter in die 1743 geschlossene Ehe ein, auf die er sich nach seinem Abschied aus den Diensten des Königs zurückzog.

Die Kommode ist bei Kreisel/Himmelheber publiziert und abgebildet.

Höhe 80,5 cm, Breite 140 cm, Tiefe 64 cm.

Abgebildet bei Kreisel, Die Kunst des deutschen Möbels, München 1973, Bd. 2, Abb. 790.

Sangl, „Spindler?“, in: Journal of the Furniture History Society, Leeds 1992, Vol. XXVII, S. 22-66.

Kunstvoll intarsierte Rokoko-Kommode aus der Werkstatt David Roentgens - Neuwied - um 1775

Furniert in Nuss, Palisander, Kirsche, Pflaume und Ahorn, Rouge Royal-Marmorplatte. Rückseitig signiertes Klebeetikett.

Auf elegant geschwungenen Beinen der zweischübige Korpus „sans traverse“ mit lambrequinartig abhängender Zarge, Front und Seiten sind aufwändig bombiert und mit außerordentlich feinen und qualitätvollen, an Schleifen gebundenen Blütengebinden intarsiert. Der originale Griff mit Blütenkranz zeigt im Medaillon eine weibliche Portraitbüste.

Die feinen, leichten Blütenintarsien, die in der Neuwieder Werkstatt unter der Leitung von David Roentgen entwickelt wurden, entsprachen im letzten Drittel des 18. Jahrhunderts eher dem Geschmack der luxusverwöhnten Käufer als die prunkvollen Dekore des Barock und Rokoko, für die sein Vater Abraham von den höfischen Auftraggebern geschätzt wurde. Die zumeist floralen Motive sind angelehnt an Vorlagen von Jean Bérains d.Ä. (1640-1711), Jean Baptiste Oudry (1686-1755) oder Jean Pillement (1728-1808).

Die beeindruckenden Effekte von Farbigkeit, Dreidimensionalität sowie Hell- und Dunkelkontraste entstehen nur durch die Verwendung verschiedenfarbiger Hölzer und allein die Kunstschreiner der Roentgen-Manufaktur beherrschten diese aufwändigen Furniertechniken in solcher Perfektion. Eine sehr ähnliche, aber etwas größere Kommode aus einem Auftrag des Landgrafen Friedrich II. von Hessen-Kassel wird im Landesmuseum Kassel bewahrt.

Höhe 80 cm, Breite 78 cm, Tiefe 41 cm.

Vgl. Huth, Abraham und David Roentgen und ihre Neuwieder Möbelwerkstatt, München 1974, Abb.238.

Möbel